Dunfermline Athletic

Preview St Mirren

Sunday, 14th Jul 2019

Betfred Cup: Sunday 14th July 2019, kick off 3.00pm at The Simple Digital Arena, St Mirren Park, Greenhill Road, Paisley,

On Sunday Stevie Crawford finds himself up against Jim Goodwin, the new St Mirren manager having taken over following the departure of Oran Kearney back to Coleraine. The 37-year-old has legendary status at the Buddies from his playing days after captaining the Paisley club to their first major trophy in 26 years in the 2013 League Cup against Hearts. Fittingly for Jim Goodwin, his first competitive match in charge of St Mirren is in that cup competition.

Dunfermline have played St Mirren thirteen times in the League Cup competition, and the Pars have come out winners on eight of those occasions so we`ve got a good record. The last time the teams met was in March 2018 that was a win for the Buddies and the Pars have only won one of their last eight trips to Paisley. St Mirren however have only ever lost one home cup tie against Dunfermline and that was in 1959.

Milestones St Mirren (Away)

Last League Victory 19/11/16 1-0 Championship
Last League Defeat 10/03/18 0-2 Championship
Best League Victory * 15/10/66 5-0 Div One*
Worst League Defeat* 18/02/59 2-6 Div One*
Last Goalless Match 25/07/11 0-0 Premier League
* Pre Reconstruction

Last Twelve Matches v St Mirren

10-03-2018 | St Mirren 2 Dunfermline 0 | Championship
26-01-2018 | Dunfermline 1-2 St Mirren | Championship
16-12-2017 | St Mirren 1-0 Dunfermline | Championship
16-09-2017 | Dunfermline 3-0 St Mirren | Championship
11-03-2017 | St Mirren 0-0 Dunfermline | Championship
14-01-2017 | Dunfermline 1-1 St Mirren | Championship
19-11-2016 | St Mirren 0-1 Dunfermline | Championship
24-09-2016 | Dunfermline 4-3 St Mirren | Championship
10-10-2015 | St Mirren 4-0 Dunfermline | Petrofac Cup
26-08-2014 | St Mirren 2-1 Dunfermline | League Cup
21-04-2012 | St Mirren 4-4 Dunfermline | SPL
24-03-2012 | Dunfermline 1-1 St Mirren | SPL

Last League Cup Meeting
SPFL League Cup Second Round
St Mirren 2 Dunfermline 1
Tuesday, 26th Aug 2014

The visitors got off to a great start taking the lead in the ninth minute. Ross Millen sent the ball into the Saints box and it dropped nicely for Lewis SPENCE to stick it away in the bottom left. 0-1
The lead was preserved until the break and they ended the first half having had 55% possession.

Saints manager Tommy Craig made two substitutions before the start of the second half with Steven Thompson and Isaac Osbourne withdrawn to be replaced by Ross Caldwell and Calum Ball. The move proved to be a masterstroke with CALDWELL cutting in and whacking the equaliser past Scully in 50th minute.

It was a cruel blow when the home side scored to go ahead for the first time on the night with just ten minutes remaining. They appeared to barge their way through the middle to feed CALDWELL the ball and he crashed it past Scully. 2-1

It had been a great show from Jim Jefferies’ men who were desperately unlucky to lose.

ST MIRREN: Marian Kello; Jason Naismith, Marc McAusland, Ellis Plummer, Jeroen Tesselar; Adam Drury, John McGinn, Kenny McLean, Isaac Osbourne (Calum Ball HT); Steven Thompson (c)(Ross Caldwell HT), Gregg Wylde
SUBS NOT USED: Mark Ridgers, Gary Teale, Thomas Reilly, Sean Kelly, Adam Brown
SCORERS: Caldwell (59, 80)

DUNFERMLINE: Ryan Scully; Ryan Williamson, Lewis Martin, Gregor Buchanan, Ross Millen; Andy Geggan (c)(Ross Forbes 87), Lewis Spence, Josh Falkingham, Ryan Thomson (Andy Stirling 83); Michael Moffat, Chigozie Ugwu.
SUBS NOT USED: Shaun Byrne, Stuart Urquhart, Allan Smith, Jonathan Page, Ryan Goodfellow (GK)
SCORERS: Spence (9)

Last time out

(v Hibernian): Ryan Scully (Cammy Gill 78): Aaron Comrie (Trialist 62), Lewis Martin (Stuart Morrison 78), Lee Ashcroft (c)(Paul Brown 87), Euan Murray (Tom Lang HT), Paul Paton (Paul Allan 68), Ryan Dow (Callum Smith 78), Tom Beadling (Matty Todd 68), Kevin Nisbet (Gabby McGill 62), Andy Ryan (Kyle Turner 68), Trialist (Lewis McCann 68)

ST MIRREN (v Stenhousemuir): Vaclav Hladky (Dean Lyness 62), Paul McGinn (Jim Kellermann 62), Jack Baird, Trialist (Cammy McPherson 62), Ethan Erhahon (Cameron Breadner 78), Trialist (Trialist HT), Ryan Flynn (Cody Cooke HT), Kyle Magennis (Stephen McGinn HT), Trialist (Trialist HT), Tony Andreu (Walker 78), Danny Mullen (Trialist HT).
SUBS NOT USED: Scott Glover.

Views : 10,694

Related Stories

Advertisement :
Arbroath v Dunfermline
Ladbrokes Championship: (away) Wednesday 4 March 2020, kick off 7.45pm at Gayfield Park
Partick Thistle v Dunfermline
Ladbrokes Championship: (away) Tuesday 10 March 2020, kick off 7,45pm at Energy Check Stadium.
Dundee v Dunfermline
Ladbrokes Championship: (away) Saturday 14 March 2020, kick off 3.00pm at Kilmac Stadium at Dens Park
Alloa Athletic v Dunfermline
Ladbrokes Championship: (away) Saturday 28 March 2020, kick off 3.00pm at Indodrill Stadium.
Ayr United v Dunfermline
Ladbrokes Championship: (away) Saturday 4 April 2020, kick off 3.00pm at Somerset Park
  • /files/pstwebsitead_0172.jpg
  • /files/promoDisplay_1249.jpg
  • /files/business_clubadvert_3633.jpg
  • /files/RHS_Web_Advert_4477.jpg

To top